What is UCAS?

UCAS (Universities & Colleges Admissions Service) is a clearing house for applications to almost all full-time undergraduate degree programmes at UK universities and colleges.

What are UCAS Points?

UCAS rates qualifications and awards them a tariff score based on various factors. The points accrued by completing multiple qualifications which are on the UCAS tariff can be combined together to meet University entry requirements.

Grade Exam

See the table below for the UCAS points awarded for a given Grade Level (Grade Exam & Performance Certificate), grade boundary and mark:

Grade Pass Merit Distinction
Grade 6 6 points 10 points 12 points
Grade 7 12 points 14 points 16 points
Grade 8 18 points 24 points 30 points

Where a candidate has taken more than one exam in one instrument, they can only put forward the exam which gave them the highest number of points. However, where points are awarded for graded exams in different instruments, these can be accumulated, but it would be the decision of the university or college whether or not they choose to accept both sets of points.

Related Links

View the Official UCAS Website for more information.